Republic of Palau
( Click on the above hyperlink to see more information on Palau )

Monetary System

Republic of Palau is group of islands in the Pacific ocean located east of Philippines. Various peoples from Philippines, New Guinea and Polynesia came to these islands for last 2000 years and settled on these islands. Spain and Germany possesed the islands as colonial powers in 1800s. In 1914, Japan invaded and occupied them till the end of 1945. In 1945, Palau came under trusteeship of United Nations and was administered by United States of America. The people of Palau voted in 1979 to become independent nation. After long transition, they became independent nation in 1995.


1992         1993        1994        1995       1996        1997        1998         1999        2000         2001       2002         2003        2004         2005            2006


Country List



RK.  November 13, 1999.
Revised: February 5, 2006.